Four Westminster Seniors Named 2023 National Merit Commended Scholars

Headmaster Ralph Janikowsky announced this week that Avery Harris, Elizabeth Laughlin, Eden Rainer, and Sam Maxwell have been named Commended Students in the 2023 National Merit Scholarship Program.

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are recognized each year for their exceptional academic promise. Commended Students place among the top 50,000 students nationally who entered the 2023 competition by taking the 2021 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Tests (PSAT/NMSQT).

“Classical Christian education has the unique capacity to unlock a student’s full potential,” said Headmaster Janikowsky. “By teaching both the heart and mind together and fully engaging students in the great conversations of the ages, we partner with parents to prepare students to engage the 21st century world.” 

“Those being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” commented a spokesperson for NMSC. “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their education opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s